Reviews

What people are saying about River Hotel


We hope you enjoy our site as well as your stay at the River Hotel. We welcome your feedback and you can start your review by completing this simple form below. Before you start, here are what some of our most recent guests have to say.

Once you have filled in your rating and subject in the form below you will be directed to tripadvisor to log in and complete your review.

Enjoy the rest of the site, use the menu to the left to find your way around.



Chakrapani - Rating 3/5

Needs refurbishment. Floors are creaky and carpets and furniture is outdated. Enjoyed breakfast, location is a plus point

Reviewer:S C | Tue 10th Dec 2019 | 1 day ago


weekend stay - Rating 5/5

A long established, traditional Metro Hotel very close to Oxford city centre, with a garden leading down to the banks of the River Thames. Staff take pride in personal and friendly service. Located an easy walk to the centre of Oxford, ideal for tourist, business and travel needs. Less than two minutes from Oxford main station...your description is spot on. plus the breakfast is fantastic.thank you for a great stay

Reviewer:bez n | Tue 10th Dec 2019 | 1 day ago


River - Rating 4/5

Friendly staff and good breakfast.Nothing was too much trouble and speciality tea was available.Excellent location.Blankets on bEd we’re not quite warm enough when heating went off and room decoration was a little ‘tired’.

Reviewer:jill r | Sat 7th Dec 2019 | 4 days ago


My visit in River Hotel - Rating 5/5

I have been in this hotel plenty times. The place is very beautiful and romantic however rather oldfshionable. But it is what I prefer. Hotel is very close to the rail way station (2 min walk) and bus station (7 min walk). Staff are profesional. Breakfastes are very testes. River Hotel is the right place for people who akcept the spirit of regency not for those one who is looking for modern building and very fresh furnitures. I wish the owners of the Hotel long prosperity.

Reviewer:Slawomir J | Wed 4th Dec 2019 | 1 week ago


back again - Rating 5/5

This is our fourth stay at the River hotel.It is a wonderful base in Oxford what ever your reason for visiting.Close to the station or bus routes. The hotel is so friendly and obliging.

Reviewer:Mrs E A B | Mon 2nd Dec 2019 | 1 week ago


Oxford Break - Rating 4/5

Very conveniently situated to centre of Oxford. All staff very friendly &very helpful - full of suggestions of things to do on a rainy November day!Breakfasts good &rooms comfy.All good

Reviewer:Rose L | Thu 28th Nov 2019 | 1 week ago


8-10th visit - warm, friendly with everything provided - Rating 5/5

We love it here. Everything you need. I love my baths when I visit. It is our 8-10th visit and we'll be coming back. Very friendly and accommodating staff. Always superb breakfasts! Allergy (gf) catered for. Never any problems. Very handy for a short walk into the centre of Oxford (5-10 mins). Warm rooms

Reviewer:Newall M | Mon 18th Nov 2019 | 3 weeks ago


Very comfortable and convenient- Rating 5/5

A very good place to stay in central Oxford near the station. We did a nice walk along the river and the canal.

Reviewer:Shirley H | Sat 16th Nov 2019 | 3 weeks ago


Graduation trip - Rating 5/5

Friendly staff and excellent service.The hotel is literally 3 mins walk from train station and 10 mins from the main shopping area.Staff very attentive at breakfast time nothing was too much trouble.Room very clean and the bed so comfy.Will definitely stay here again in the near future.

Reviewer:Yendor B | Wed 13th Nov 2019 | 4 weeks ago


Warm Room and Warm Welcome - Rating 4/5

The purpose of my visit was somewhere to stay during a conference at Oxford Brookes Harcourt Hill Campus. This hotel was conveniently situated near the railway station and on the bus route for the campus.The room I had was warm, cozy and just what was needed to relax after a long day of papers.The bath had good quality bubble bath and the place had a real feel of home about it.The breakfast had a good selection and staff were friendly.I can highly recommend this as a comfy hotel for this sort of visit.

Reviewer:Sally R | Sun 10th Nov 2019 | 1 month ago


Highly recommended- Rating 5/5

The River Hotel is excellent for an enjoyable stay in Oxford. It is convenient for the railway station, has ample safe car parking, and is only a few minutes walk into the town centre. The staff are all welcoming, helpful and attentive. The rooms are slightly dated but absolutely spotless, and made up beautifully each day. The beds have traditional bedding. Personally I would prefer a duvet and suggest this as an upgrade. Breakfast is wonderful and they coped admirably with my need for gluten and dairy free. I will be returning next time I visit Oxford.

Reviewer:ANGELA G | Sat 9th Nov 2019 | 1 month ago


Lovely stay - Rating 5/5

A cozy room in a cozy hotel. The location was nice and central. The breakfast was a typical and good English breakfast.Service was good.

Reviewer:Dario C | Tue 5th Nov 2019 | 1 month ago


Mrs- Rating 4/5

The location is perfect as it is near Oxford train station and easy to visit city centre by buses or walk. Breakfast is lovely and friendly staff make the day a good start. Thank you.

Reviewer:Yan(Stella) R | Tue 5th Nov 2019 | 1 month ago


Very good stay, would stay again - Rating 4/5

Reasonable price for the location, friendly staff and on-site parking.10-15 mins walk to the centre of town.

Reviewer:NICHOLAS Mike and S | Mon 4th Nov 2019 | 1 month ago


Oxford visit - Rating 5/5

Great stay and very kind hospitality. Thank you.Shaneagh and Geraldine

Reviewer:Shaneagh M | Sun 3rd Nov 2019 | 1 month ago


October in Oxford - Rating 5/5

This is an old hotel but it is comfortable, clean and very convenient to Oxford city centre and the train station.The lovely ladies working on the front desk and serving us breakfast were extremely friendly and were very helpful with directions. Breakfast was very good and was served efficiently. We would definitely stay here again.

Reviewer:MARGARET G | Mon 21st Oct 2019 | 1 month ago


Pleasant Hotel, lovely staff - Rating 4/5

We have just spent two nights at the hotel.It is old and in need of a little tender loving care - the floorboards are very noisy...however, don't let this put you off.The staff are very friendly and helpful - especially Sharon and Irena,and made us feel very welcome and nothing was too much trouble.Breakfast was very good and the little bar was perfect for a little pre-night out drink or a late nightcap.The location of the hotel to the city centre is perfect.Being on the river I would imagine in the summer it is lovely.Thanks for having us and if we are in the area we would stay again.

Reviewer:Sharon T | Fri 18th Oct 2019 | 1 month ago


River hotel- Rating 4/5

V warm, friendly, helpful.rather dear but I suppose that's oxford!

Reviewer:MAYORCAS P | Thu 10th Oct 2019 | 2 months ago


Great stay - Rating 4/5

The location is ideal for getting round Oxford on foot and very close to the station. Breakfast is wonderful and keeps you going all day.Loved exploring Oxford, so many things to do and amazing restaurants.Hosts were lovely and very helpful re local pubs etc.Would stay there again.

Reviewer:Karen C | Mon 7th Oct 2019 | 2 months ago


Friendly staff - Rating 5/5

I am a returning guest. I stayed in River Hotel again as the staff thete are freiendly and helpful. The facilities in the room are basic but enough for short stay.The breakfast is too carefully prepared to be missed. The ducks and geese next to the River Thames are definitely a bonus to the stay.

Reviewer:Hebe W | Sun 6th Oct 2019 | 2 months ago


Great location - Rating 4/5

We appreciated the friendly, helpful staff, and the wonderful hot breakfast.We were grateful that the staff was able to accomodate our request for an early check-in.The location is close to both the rail and bus stations so no need for taxis to the hotel.After sight-seeing all day, we enjoyed sitting in the hotel's small garden overlooking the Thames River.This is a older hotel that shows some wear and has no lift.It worked well for us.

Reviewer:Bernard S | Fri 4th Oct 2019 | 2 months ago


small village charm in a big city - Rating 5/5

We stayed here for 3 nights and loved it.The staff was friendly and helpful.The breakfasts were superb.well prepared and presented.We stayed in the Annex across the street from the main building, but wouldn't have know the difference.The river location was a plus too.

Reviewer:Daniel B | Wed 2nd Oct 2019 | 2 months ago


Excellent stay - Rating 5/5

Found everything was all round excellent,Great location, friendly helpful Staff, clean and compact room. Not a 5 star national chain hotel but lacked nothing in respect of service and Friendliness and cleanliness. Breakfast was excellent and more than adequate.

Reviewer:Mark C | Mon 30th Sep 2019 | 2 months ago


September 2019 - Rating 4/5

We stayed in the Annex which is in need of updating but was otherwise clean and comfortable.Staff were very friendly and breakfast excellent.we will stay here again.

Reviewer:Robert L | Mon 30th Sep 2019 | 2 months ago


Baby-sitting - Rating 5/5

Excellent location, especially with regards to where we were needed, but also a pleasant walk into town;and if a car user, perfect for a quick arrival and getaway (usually! - the Botley Road is a complete nightmare at the moment due to new gas pipe installation!).And ample parking included in the price! And couldn't be much more convenient if arriving by train!Perfectly adequate room - bathroom a bit 'cosy' perhaps.Excellent breakfast.And most notably and importantly - such friendly and helpful staff throughout!We have already booked to stay again for our next visit to Oxford.

Reviewer:Richard S | Fri 27th Sep 2019 | 2 months ago


One night stay over - Rating 5/5

The venue was perfect for our requirements. My friend and I wanted somewhere that was pleasant of course, but above all functional for our needs. The staff were efficient, knowledgable and polite without any of the usual 'over the top' synthetic mannerisms often associated with customer services these days. The location was perfectly placed by the river with boating activies viewed from the restaurant and easy access to the railway station to meet our other friends. We both had the full English breakfast the following morning and it was served quickly, piping hot and not a spot of grease, lovely. So nice that a common sense approach was taken to serving food hot. Many a high level restaurant could do to remembering those basics as I've had the misfortune to experience and have had to send it back. The accommodation is no frills. You won't find the latest style in room/bathroom fittings but we were not looking for that. We got what we wanted, an ensuite twin fit for purpose, clean and tidy with some complimentary effects. We had a comfortable undisturbed stay, lovely and peacefiul, yet a 'stone's throw' from the city centre. You will have a pleasant stay here if you are booking with the right expectations. If you want glamourous interior design, and haute cuisine then book somewhere that fits the bill and the expense. This time we were looking for a thrifty one night stay and the venue more than met our expectations. We are glad that a more traditional characterful venue still exists and that not everywhere has been taken over by modern austere minimalism of other travel hotels. We both agreed we would stay again and recommend to others. Well done and thank you.

Reviewer:Fleur T | Wed 25th Sep 2019 | 2 months ago


Great location and staff. - Rating 5/5

Very close to Train &Bus stations. Pretty garden,free large parking area.Small but very comfortable amenities. Helpful &friendly staff. Excellent cooked to order Breakfast.Highly recommened as a small well located Hotel

Reviewer:Mr and Mrs P | Tue 24th Sep 2019 | 2 months ago


A hotel full of character - Rating 4/5

We have just returned from two nights at the hotel and don't normally review hotels but on this occasion I think it's warranted.If you're looking for something clean and comfortable with character then this is for you. Staff were welcoming and friendly, therewas good choice at breakfast and The food was of good quality. If you want something modern like Premier Inn then this isn't for you.The decor is a bit older than most places and the bedroom did have a lot of furniture so wasnt the easiest of places to move around but the hotel is VERY clean. Sheets and bathroom in particular were spotless, I found. The sheets felt and smelled lovely and fresh! Generous with toiletries and everything you need is there. Car park at the back, less than 15 mins to the centre, rail or bus station. Would stay again.

Reviewer:Angie C | Mon 23rd Sep 2019 | 2 months ago


Fabulous- Rating 5/5

Absolutely loved my week long stay here. Would certainly return next year. Perfect for getting into Oxford and walking the Thames Path. Near enough to drive or get a bus to the Cotswold villages and Blenheim Palace. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was delicious with more than I could eat. Room was clean and comfortable although Alex Polizzi would have a field day with the whole hotel decoration but I guess that is what adds to the charm

Reviewer:Angela B | Sun 22nd Sep 2019 | 2 months ago


Stay from 17th to 20th Sep 19 - Rating 4/5

Was happy with my stay.

Reviewer:Sheeja H | Fri 20th Sep 2019 | 2 months ago


Good place - Rating 5/5

The hotel is very well located, a few minutes walk from Oxford Centre. There is also a supermarket and a playground area nearby which is interesting for families with children like us. The staff is very kind as well.

Reviewer:Luty Rodrigues R | Thu 19th Sep 2019 | 2 months ago


Great Stay! - Rating 5/5

Very pleased with all aspects from Booking to Stay. River hotel is a fantastic hotel with a great location. Would always recommend.

Reviewer:Rebellion Llod D | Wed 11th Sep 2019 | 3 months ago


Nice place - Rating 4/5

The hotel is very well located close to a big supermarket and close to Oxford Centre, with a good breakfast and nice rooms.

Reviewer:Luty Rodrigues R | Sun 8th Sep 2019 | 3 months ago


River hotel - Rating 4/5

Charming hotel by the water and who changes from impersonal hotels. Two minutes from the train station and 10 from the Oxford bus station. The hosts are very friendly. I recommend it!

Reviewer:Sarita G | Sun 8th Sep 2019 | 3 months ago


River Hotel - Rating 5/5

Really good stay - comfortable, good food and friendly and helpful staff.

Reviewer:mary s | Sat 7th Sep 2019 | 3 months ago


Old n tiredbut clean - Rating 3/5

Lovely friendly and helpful staff. Good breakfast. Very hot and noisy room - no air con or fan (didnt ask for one which should have done, but usuallyfans are in rooms).

Reviewer:Sara R | Fri 6th Sep 2019 | 3 months ago


mrs - Rating 3/5

Good Staf - kind and serviceminded!Good breakfast.The place needs to be repaird. But I likethe place.

Reviewer:Ylvs K | Sun 1st Sep 2019 | 3 months ago


weekend stay - Rating 4/5

Really enjoyed the stay at the River.We needed to be near the train station and this hotel is ideally located for this.Although city centre hotel, the location is right next to a river so you don't feel that you are in the city - but only a few minutes walk to the shops and restaurants.The service is excellent - friendly staff.Fantastic breakfast as well.Parking is ideal.

Reviewer:Frances K | Thu 29th Aug 2019 | 3 months ago


Short stay in Oxford - Rating 3/5

Beautiful location by the river, very convenient to the train station, friendly and welcoming staff, breakfast prepared with care, the room was not very comfortable, in particular the fitted carpet needs maintenance

Reviewer:Lorenzo L | Thu 29th Aug 2019 | 3 months ago


Feeling like at home! - Rating 5/5

We traveled around the UK during 28 days. Our two days were at Oxford, and we decided to stay in the River hotel because was near near the town, but out of the caos. Finally we found a lovely house, with lovely people there;always smiling and in good mood.Very confortable rooms, beautifull backyard next to the river, and the best breakfast we had ever in the UK.

Reviewer:Vanesa C | Mon 26th Aug 2019 | 3 months ago


Excellent- Rating 5/5

This was a last minute reservation and it was handled as if they knew we were coming. Lovely room and delish breakfast. Would recommend to friends. Warm and friendly staff!!

Reviewer:McDevitt J | Sun 18th Aug 2019 | 3 months ago


Very welcoming hosts- Rating 4/5

The hotel is a bit in need of a refresh but despite the dated decor the rooms are clean and functional and the hosts are very friendly and accommodating. Breakfast is good and overall, for its location and price, this is a good hotel. We would stay again.

Reviewer:Laurence C | Sun 18th Aug 2019 | 3 months ago


Nice hotel 10 minutes från bus station and Oxford center - Rating 4/5

Good location within 10 minutes walk to the bus station and center of Oxford. Very good and well cooked English breakfast. The hotel is starting to get a little worn in some parts (eg the beds in our room). Had wished there was shower soap an not just bath foam. Otherwise Ok and the cleaning was good.Very nice staff. Can imagine staying here again.

Reviewer:maria m | Thu 15th Aug 2019 | 3 months ago


A lovely escape - Rating 5/5

I had a lovely long weekend. The hotel was really well located, just a three minute walk from the train station. My room was really nice with a bath and shower, I liked that bubble bath was provided. Breakfast was excellent with a good choice and service from a reasonable time. I would definitely recommend the River Hotel and would stay again if I returned to Oxford. The staff were friendly and helpful and there was always someone around if you needed assistance.

Reviewer:Tracey C | Wed 14th Aug 2019 | 3 months ago


Boarding House - Rating 3/5

Reminiscent of an old style boarding house The River Hotel is good for an overnight stay. The breakfast was excellent and it’s an easy walk from the railway station. Bit expensive for what it was but it served our needs.

Reviewer:Alan & Eloise C | Mon 12th Aug 2019 | 4 months ago


First visit to Oxford- Rating 5/5

The hotel is nicely situated by the river 5 minutes walk from the city centre.Parking is easy to access.The rooms are small but clean and well maintained.The staff are lovely and very welcoming.The breakfast is excellent.All in all a very nice place.

Reviewer:Paul P | Sun 11th Aug 2019 | 4 months ago


Comfortable but tired hotel- Rating 3/5

Rooms are clean and comfortable but the hotel looks like one out of the 1950’s. Staff are pleasant and helpful. Hotel is close to the train station but a 15 minute walk to the historic area. The hotel is in need of fresh paint and carpet replacement. I think it is overpriced for what you get.

Reviewer:Rosalyn S | Sat 10th Aug 2019 | 4 months ago


Great breakfast - Rating 5/5

Perfect place to visit Oxford, we werehere one night, special note on the breakfast, it was great, we had enough energy for the rest of the day :-)

Reviewer:Manuel B | Fri 9th Aug 2019 | 4 months ago


Recent visit - Rating 4/5

We chose the River Hotel due to its proximity to Oxford Station on arrival and the river.We joined a Hotel Boat literally minutes away from your hotel on the 25th July so ideal for us.The lady on reception on our arrival was extremely helpful as we asked her where The Punter was, as we knew it was minutes away, and she also gave us details of an alternative should we not get in at The Punter but all was fine.On our day of departure we left our luggage with you whilst we went on foot to explore Oxford, on returning to the hotel the man on reception returned our luggage as we sat for a few minutes in the lounge and he supplied us with very welcome iced water.The breakfast in the morning was a good selction.

Reviewer:Mr & Mrs K B | Fri 9th Aug 2019 | 4 months ago


Lovely little hotel- Rating 4/5

We stayed for 2 nights. Made to feel welcome straight away. Rooms ok. Breakfast really great. Not to far from centre lovely little hotel.

Reviewer:Judith P | Sat 3rd Aug 2019 | 4 months ago


City holiday - Rating 5/5

The River Hotel is ideal for the centre of Oxford and the position right on the Thames river is great.The staff are very friendly and informal and the breakfast is just wonderful. The rooms whilst not entirely modern are comfortable, clean and of the right size.A great place to stay for both couple, groups of friends etc.

Reviewer:Joe E | Wed 31st Jul 2019 | 4 months ago


enjoyable stay - Rating 5/5

As always we were very happy with our stay at the River hotel Oxford.With such friendly staff you feel one of the family.

Reviewer:Mrs E A B | Wed 24th Jul 2019 | 4 months ago


Good - Rating 4/5

Hospitality and breakfast were really good! One concern (as a typical Japanese) was that bath soak instead of body soap was there.

Reviewer:Tomohiko S | Mon 22nd Jul 2019 | 4 months ago


Very pleasant stay! - Rating 5/5

You may kindly take a look on my tripadvisor-reviewjuergenbvb09 )

Reviewer:Juergen B | Sat 20th Jul 2019 | 4 months ago


Experience for staying River Hotel at Oxford, UK - Rating 5/5

I do really enjoy my stayat River Hotel. It has everything I need, especially all staffs is very kind and helpful during my stay. The breakfast is good and delicious. No doubt I will stay here if I visit Oxford again.

Reviewer:Cheng-Maw C | Fri 19th Jul 2019 | 4 months ago


Comfortable hotel in great location - Rating 4/5

We stayed 1 night at the River Hotel to see Oxford from London.We arrived early but were able to get into our room quickly which was great.The room was compact as was the bathroom but very clean and a very comfortable bed.Breakfast in the morning was included in the rate and was very good - my poached eggs were perfect!All staff were very friendly and helpful and it was nice to be able to have a drink in the lounge/bar before going out for dinner.A short walk from the station so an ideal location, and backing on to the river - lovely.

Reviewer:Anne C | Wed 17th Jul 2019 | 4 months ago


Review of River Hotel - Rating 4/5

Excellent location within 20 minute walk of the main sights of Oxford. Onsight parking good which meant we could leave the car whilst exploring Oxford. The staff were friendly and helpful. Good choice of food for breakfast. Although the accommodation itself seemed a bit worn in places it was clean and comfortable.

Reviewer:Mrs Ailsa C | Tue 16th Jul 2019 | 4 months ago


Homely, friendly and gluten-free aware - Rating 4/5

This hotel is in a great position for exploring Oxford on foot, which is what we were there for. Also has car parking which was a must for us. Very friendly staff, clean, comfortable room, good breakfast.They also understood and catered for gluten free which was really nice.

Reviewer:Gina L | Sat 6th Apr 2019 | 8 months ago


River Hotel - Rating 4/5

Great location, very hospitable, helpful and friendly hosts, good breakfast. Would stay again.

Reviewer:Kevin G | Mon 25th Mar 2019 | 8 months ago


Comfortable stay with great breakfast- Rating 4/5

We love the location and the breakfast! Do take note there is no lift in this building though. If you have heavy luggage, it's a pain..

Reviewer:Alvin Y | Wed 20th Mar 2019 | 8 months ago


My first visit to Oxford - Rating 2/5

I chose River Hotel because it is close to the station and it overlooks the river. I enjoyed eating my brilliant full English breakfast looking onto the lovely garden and the river. My compliments to the chef! Most things are a little dated in the hotel and I found my shower tricky to operate, I couldn't open a window and my room was very warm, but the staff were keen to help. My first room had a small bathroom but I was moved when another room became vacant. I can't fault the service but I still felt the rooms overpriced.

Response

Thank you for your review Mrs Massey.When booking on a third party website such as Expedia you are quoted a per room rate, whereas if you had booked direct on our website we offer single occupancy rates, which would have been a saving over the three nights.We are glad you enjoyed the hospitality and service and would trust you consider the River Hotel should you visit Oxford a second time, as you know there is plenty to do here to keep you occupied.A warm thank you from all the team.

Reviewer:Anne M | Tue 12th Mar 2019 | 9 months ago


Comfortable and convenient - Rating 4/5

River Hotel is comfortable, friendly and conveniently situated for the city centre. I enjoyed my stay there.

Reviewer:J M | Sun 10th Mar 2019 | 9 months ago


River Hotel - Rating 5/5

Once again a comfortable stay in this friendly hotel.

Reviewer:THOMSON M | Fri 1st Mar 2019 | 9 months ago


Thank you note to River Hotel - Rating 5/5

Dear all,Thank you everyone of River Hotel for your services and booking arrangements offered for my eight times of stay at your hotel.I am impressed with your friendly hotelstaff, room rates, clean and tidy room with hotel facilities which are the most important points that make me return to stay at your hotel.Also, thank you for the reception in handling efficiently whenever I have a change of arrival/departure dates. I got a reply within one day so it lessen my worry.Thanks much again for everyone of River Hotel.Warm regards,

Reviewer:YIU KIT ERNEST W | Tue 19th Feb 2019 | 9 months ago


Really nice hotel!- Rating 4/5

Very nice hotel. Rooms were cleaned and it was easy to walk from busstation plus walk to center of Oxford. Nice breakfast in a lovely room and the staff are very friendly. I will return!

Reviewer:Ingela F | Mon 18th Feb 2019 | 9 months ago


Great Location - Rating 5/5

This hotel is very convenient for the town centre and has ample free parking provided.Located right on a picturesque river. Management extremely helpful and friendly and breakfast was really good.It only claims 2 stars, so wasn't disappointed with the modest accommodation as it isn't pretending to be anything else.We will definately stay there again.Thank you.

Reviewer:Mark J | Mon 11th Feb 2019 | 10 months ago


Comfortable and well located- Rating 4/5

This hotel is friendly and comfortable, clean and in a great location for station, theatres and city centre - a 5 minute walk from station and situated on the river.The breakfast choices were wide (more than expected for this type of hotel) and really well cooked. Great trouble was taken to make us welcome, would definitely use this hotel again if in the area

Reviewer:lesley c | Wed 30th Jan 2019 | 10 months ago


Stay January 2019 - Rating 4/5

Very well-situated, free parking, lovely garden, warm welcome and very helpful staff. If possible, it would be nice to have slightly larger bathtowels. Ideally, a step-in shower.

Reviewer:Pamela M | Sat 19th Jan 2019 | 10 months ago


Comfortable stay - Rating 5/5

Once again a comfortable stay at the River Hotel, such friendly and helpful staff in a well run hotel.

Reviewer:THOMSON Mr and M | Tue 18th Dec 2018 | 11 months ago


thanks from Mr. Wong for stays 3-8 Dec, 2018 - Rating 5/5

Thank you for the all the help from River Hotel.1.quick response in handling my booking or change of dates2.good in knowing the choice of Mr. Wong's room preference in staying at River HotelBest wishes from Mr. Wong to you all for having a Merry X'mas and Happy New Year of 2019.see you in February 2019!

Reviewer:YIU KIT ERNEST W | Mon 10th Dec 2018 | 1 year ago


An excellent small hotel - Rating 5/5

Our double, ensuite room at the River Hotel, though not large, was very clean, comfortable and with plenty of storage space. The staff were pleasant, friendly and extremely helpful. Breakfast was very good. Given its location, an ideal place to stay close to the centre of Oxford.

Reviewer:John B | Sun 9th Dec 2018 | 1 year ago


Nice stay in Oxford - Rating 4/5

Nice breakfast with a brilliant river view though the room was a little bit old-fashioned. It's good to stay btw.

Reviewer:Chi Kit P | Fri 23rd Nov 2018 | 1 year ago


Pleasant stay. Highly recommended- Rating 5/5

Was very lucky to come across River Hotel at the last minute for a weekend stay with our 3 month old baby. The receptionist was very warm and welcoming throughout our stay. The room was clean and comfortable and is close to the city centre. Breakfast was on time and tasty. All in all.. A good choice.

Reviewer:Rose J | Mon 19th Nov 2018 | 1 year ago


friendly homy staying - Rating 5/5

friendly people, homy design, clean and tidy room, delicious breakfast with few to a canal. Two minutes far from train station and ten from down town

Reviewer:theodosia p | Wed 31st Oct 2018 | 1 year ago


Great location, breakfast and reasonable- Rating 5/5

As said, handy for walking into the main part of the city, excellent choice with breakfast all at a good rate

Reviewer:DRYDEN Mr F | Sun 28th Oct 2018 | 1 year ago


hotel review - Rating 3/5

bedroom needed updating,breakfast was good

Reviewer:POMEROYD | Mon 22nd Oct 2018 | 1 year ago


Enjoyable stay - Rating 4/5

Very comfortable hotel, conveniently located to station and Oxford city attractions.

Reviewer:Anthony V | Mon 22nd Oct 2018 | 1 year ago


Thanks for kindness, room and meal. - Rating 4/5

We came from Japan to meet my son in Lancaster.On the way to Lancaster from London we visited Oxford. We wanted to go Helen &Douglas House,Hospice for kids and young adult.The owner of River Hotel was so kind to tell the direction to the House and which bus to get on.Our room is clean and has enough tools for staying.Breakfast at the restaurant by the rever is good taste.The room fee is reasonable.We are old and maybe can't go to Oxford again.But we had good experience in Oxford.Thanks for River Hotel.

Reviewer:Atsufumi N | Fri 12th Oct 2018 | 1 year ago


Pleasant and friendly- Rating 4/5

Very pleasant and friendly staff in old English hotel. Convenient to train station

Reviewer:Maureen D | Thu 11th Oct 2018 | 1 year ago


Weekend break - Rating 4/5

A great little hotel run by the most attentive hosts. Travelling with my best friend we were greeted with a warm and friendly welcome.The room we had was basic but extremely clean (as was all of the hotel). A little on the old fashioned side though. (Blankets/sheets instead of duvets)Breakfast was delicious and nothing too much trouble. With oxford city centre within a 10 min walk and the river view outside i would definately stay here again.

Reviewer:Angela J | Tue 9th Oct 2018 | 1 year ago


Convenient Location, Comfortable Stay, Great Breakfast- Rating 5/5

Traveling by rail, the River Hotel is conveniently located a few minutes away from the station. The staff was very helpful in having our room ready when we arrived and answering our questions about the city.The room was comfortable, and breakfast was great.We would stay there if we visit Oxford in the future

Reviewer:Gerald S | Mon 1st Oct 2018 | 1 year ago


Friendly staff,courteous- Rating 4/5

near the train station. Although it was only from 8:00 breakfast, I was served breakfast earlier

Reviewer:Michael H | Fri 28th Sep 2018 | 1 year ago


Great stay - Rating 4/5

Had a great stay at the River Hotel - my room was clean, cozy and met my needs perfectly for the week I was at school. There were some minor hiccups but nothing that would prevent me from coming back again, as the staff were particularly warm and accommodating. See you again soon!

Reviewer:Anisa G | Mon 24th Sep 2018 | 1 year ago


A good hotel in Oxford city center - Rating 4/5

Although not in the city center, I believe it’s one of the best places for its value of money. Almost 5 m walk to the George street and from that to the other places. And a bonus if you are a. MBA or EMBA student, the walk is only 3 m. Moreover,compared to the B.B. places, this hotel by far has better room and bigger. The only remark is the TV. Almost a 20” screen. The owners are good couple and they take personal care of their resedents. I liked it a lot.

Reviewer:MARWAN E | Mon 24th Sep 2018 | 1 year ago


Short Stau okay, good Breakfast - Rating 3/5

Very small room, very good Breakfast, friendly staff

Reviewer:Katrin H | Sun 23rd Sep 2018 | 1 year ago


Staying at River Hotel- Rating 5/5

The hotel was lovely with clean comfortable room endless hot water and a marvellous breakfast. We would love to stay again

Reviewer:Sue H | Sat 22nd Sep 2018 | 1 year ago


Weekend in Oxford - Rating 3/5

The hotel is in a good location and is only a15 minute walk from the city centre. The staff are friendly and helpful and the breakfast is also very good.The only negative is that our bedroom’s decor and furniturewas very tired and dated and in need of an update to modern hotel standards.

Reviewer:Stephen B | Mon 17th Sep 2018 | 1 year ago


Great spot - Rating 4/5

Great position close to town centre staff friendly and helpful hotel decor bit dated but spotlessly clean will use again when visiting Oxford

Reviewer:FRENCH Kevin and C | Sun 16th Sep 2018 | 1 year ago


A great hotel - Rating 5/5

Great welcoming and great service. The breakfast was very good and we would stay here again

Reviewer:Linda K | Sat 15th Sep 2018 | 1 year ago


Nice place to stay - Rating 4/5

We stayed nine nights at the River Hotel and enjoyed our visit.The location was quiet and the rooms were clean, comfortable, and well-serviced.It's in a lovely location, convenient to the city and transit.

Reviewer:Anita H | Wed 12th Sep 2018 | 1 year ago


Lovely, Friendly and Convenient - Rating 5/5

The staff was very friendly and very accommodating and the location is very convenient. We drove in and then didn't need to use the car while we explored Oxford. Room was tidy and comfortable. They even helped us with getting a couple of glasses of ice late in the evening.

Reviewer:Justin D | Wed 12th Sep 2018 | 1 year ago


So Nice - Rating 5/5

Very Nice Hotel. Perfect location to visit Oxford! Excellent breakfast.

Reviewer:Ms FINCKER and Mr B | Mon 10th Sep 2018 | 1 year ago


Fantastic stay - Rating 5/5

This was our 2nd stay at the River Hotel as we had a balloon flight planned but was cancelled the first time. We had no hesitation in coming back as the service and hospitality the 1st time was excellent and that was equaled if not bettered 2nd time around. Our Balloon flight was very early morning and so they happily made us up a breakfast tray the night before to have as we were out before Breakfast began.The balloon flight took place and we got back about 30 mins after breakfast had finished but they were so kind and put on a full breakfast service just for us despite having just finished setting up again.The welcome is friendly and nothing is too much trouble.The location is great as you are close enough to be a short walk to the centre of town but far enough out to be quiet and peaceful along the river.As we had 2 nights we were checking out on the Sunday morning but were pleased to be told we could keep the car in the car park as we were going back into Oxford for the day.The rooms are basic but very clean and tidy with comfortable beds and plenty of room.Will definitely be coming back.

Reviewer:Will O | Mon 10th Sep 2018 | 1 year ago


Good Hotel - Rating 4/5

Hotel was overall good and a good location. The prices are surprisingly high but that might just be Oxford. The internet was not great as a business traveler. Otherwise, overall was fine.

Reviewer:Austin E | Sat 8th Sep 2018 | 1 year ago


Friendlyness - Rating 5/5

We had an enjoyable stay at the River Hotel. We intend to stay there again as the staff were so helpful and attended to our needs. We really felt welcome

Reviewer:Mrs E A B | Thu 23rd Aug 2018 | 1 year ago


Ideal for our particular needs - Rating 4/5

Comfortable beds, good car parking, good breakfast, helpful staff.

Reviewer:Susan H | Wed 22nd Aug 2018 | 1 year ago


Thank you to River Hotel - Rating 5/5

This is my 5th stays of choosing River Hotel, I come back again because the the staff of RH is nice and helpful in assisting the guests, the room is standard and clean.

Reviewer:WONG Yiu K | Tue 24th Jul 2018 | 1 year ago


July 2018 - Rating 3/5

I came to Oxford to take part in a University Summer School course. I stayed in the room overlooking the river. It was comfortable and spotlessly clean. The staff were helpful and friendly. Particular thanks to Sharon who served my breakfast and took a realinterest in what I was doing

Reviewer:JONES J | Mon 23rd Jul 2018 | 1 year ago


a pleasant stay - Rating 4/5

Nice charming hotel, well situated, spacious room and fine breakfast. Very friendly hosts.CK

Reviewer:Cécile K | Mon 9th Jul 2018 | 1 year ago


Fantastic Bargain, Excellent Staff - Rating 5/5

My husband and I so enjoyed our stay here. It's a quirky old building, which we found charming--especially the garden and dining room. The staff was extremely helpful when we needed them and gave us excellent transportation tips for the trip home. The location is phenomenal--very close to the train station and in a quiet neighborhood. I'm so glad that places like this exist. The accommodations are modest enough to be affordable but excellent nevertheless--a beautiful stay for a regular budget.

Reviewer:Kimberly F | Mon 9th Jul 2018 | 1 year ago


Moon River - Rating 5/5

Another great weekend at the river. Good bed, good breakfast, good welcome, polite staff. What more could you ask for ?. A bar, riverside garden ( the THAMES )Well that’s all there as well.

Reviewer:Mr and Mrs RG | Mon 9th Jul 2018 | 1 year ago


Very pleasant- Rating 4/5

Nice room, wonderful staff, and an overall very pleasant stay

Reviewer:Stephen K | Wed 4th Jul 2018 | 1 year ago


Visiting Oxford- Rating 4/5

Friendly and helpful. Good situation near station and river. Thankyou.

Reviewer:Doreen G | Thu 28th Jun 2018 | 1 year ago


River Hotel Review - Rating 5/5

Excellent location for tourists. Handsome Victorian building with well-kept garden overlooking the Thames river and canal boats. Convenient walking distance (for carrying luggage) from train station, and to historic sites, churches, and museums in the city center.Adequately sized room and restroom. Sit-in restaurant, and take-out food establishment across street. Convenience store nearby. Although Botley Rd. is well trafficated, the evenings were quiet.Excellent cooked and served breakfast. Hotel staff is most helpful in guiding visitors for the most reasonable travel plans to out-of-town sites such as Blenheim Palace. Overall, I consider the River Hotel (price, location, food, staff help) a financial value. U.S.A. visitor

Reviewer:Ken C | Sat 16th Jun 2018 | 1 year ago


Review - Rating 5/5

Very nice! Good service.

Reviewer:Hans L | Fri 15th Jun 2018 | 1 year ago


Nice to stay at - Rating 4/5

very friendly and helpful people, good and tasty breakfast, within easy walking distance of the center, nice room

Reviewer:Caroline H | Thu 7th Jun 2018 | 1 year ago


Friendly- Rating 4/5

The service was very friendly and breakfast was excellent. Having on site parking was a big bonus. Rooms could do with an update.

Reviewer:METCALF M | Wed 6th Jun 2018 | 1 year ago


A perfect place to stay in oxford - Rating 5/5

Fabulous room, great service, nice breakfast. Thank you for everything. We’ve enjoyed our stay

Reviewer:Suk Yee Iris K | Fri 11th May 2018 | 1 year ago


Helpful and friendly - Rating 5/5

Staff were most accommodating and helpful with really useful guidance on walks and things to see. Breakfast was beautifully cooked and presented and the room was clean and comfortable.

Reviewer:John L | Thu 10th May 2018 | 1 year ago


Nice hotel, nice breakfast included.. - Rating 4/5

There are lots of nice things about this hotel. Excellent location;very quiet;walking distance from Thames path and city center. Tasty hot breakfast. Wonderful staff. Coffee, tea and biscuits are available in your room. On the downside, we had two problems with the rooms (the building is old and not easily changed) (1) to take a shower, you have to climb into a big tub which is awkward and somewhat slippery and (2) central heat is only on during certain hours, which means that you either roast or freeze if you are in the bed near the heater.

Response

Thank you for your kind review Catherine and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.Our bathrooms include a bath tub with over bath shower;our customers can decide whether to have a bath or shower and we have had positive feedback suggesting these homely touches are often lacking in other hotels. Despite the added space the bath takes up we hope they are welcome, especially after a long walk in Oxford, or along the River Thames.The heating system is thermostatically controlled and each radiator has its own controller as well. You stayed with us during the change of seasons and although the heating can\'t be turned off completely at this time of year, there were some nights were it was probably not really necessary.

Reviewer:Catherine C | Thu 3rd May 2018 | 1 year ago


One night in twin ensuite room - Rating 5/5

An all-round lovely stay. Warm, quiet, comfy beds, lots of hot water, spotless, great advice on getting around from Reception, fabulous breakfast, friendly and welcoming. Would go back again like a flash. Thank you all for a wonderful citybreak in Oxford.

Reviewer:Shauna D | Tue 1st May 2018 | 1 year ago


OldisGold - Rating 5/5

Must admit I was concerned when we arrived at the car park as it seemed a little old. However we were warmly welcomed at reception and given directions to where we needed to go.Perfect location from the centre, easy walking only 10 mins.Room was spacious and light, with plenty of hanging space.Only slight issue for me personally was the bed was firm but this is not a complaint.Breakfast was served by a lovely lady, hot foods cooked to order.They remembered I was a vegetarian! Very nice

Reviewer:Jen C | Fri 27th Apr 2018 | 1 year ago


Lovely B & B - Rating 5/5

I enjoyed my 6 nights in the River Hotel. The staff are very friendly;my room was good sized for one person. Breakfast was nicely presented with a good choice of cooked items. The hotel is situated beside the River Thames with easy access to the towpaths. Also it’s only a short walk from Oxford station and the City Centre. I look forward to returning some day.

Reviewer:Veronica M | Thu 26th Apr 2018 | 1 year ago


Lovely B & B - Rating 5/5

I enjoyed my 6 nights in the River Hotel. The staff are very friendly;my room was good sized for one person. Breakfast was nicely presented with a good choice of cooked items. The hotel is situated beside the River Thames with easy access to the towpaths. Also it’s only a short walk from Oxford station and the City Centre. I look forward to returning some day.

Reviewer:Veronica M | Tue 24th Apr 2018 | 1 year ago


Clean, convenient, good value for central Oxford. - Rating 5/5

Classic British small hotel/B&B. Friendly, good breakfast. Excellent location if you need to be close to bus and train station. It is only half a mile from the bus station, only 3 minutes from train station. Some might say it is expensive for what you get, but that is because it is in the center of Oxford! Yes the building is old, so floors creak or have slants to them. That's part of the charm, but was never an inconvenience. Showers were nice and hot. My ensuite twin was spacious and looked out over the garden.

Reviewer:Anne w | Tue 24th Apr 2018 | 1 year ago


Friendly staff, Nice river view- Rating 3/5

Short 5 min walk to Oxford center.Very close to trains.Good breakfast in a room with a nice view of the river.Room was small and simple.Could use some updating.

Reviewer:WRIGHTSON B | Wed 4th Apr 2018 | 1 year ago


River Hotel - Rating 5/5

A truly excellent hotel, in every respect. We have stayed in this hotel before, and we willdo it again in our future visits to Oxford.

Reviewer:Monir T | Sat 10th Feb 2018 | 1 year ago


Pleasant stay - Rating 4/5

My mother and I came for a second stay at the River Hotel, whilst visiting my daughter. the staff could not have been more friendly, or helpful. As always, the breakfast was excellent. Thank you.

Reviewer:B | Tue 5th Dec 2017 | 2 years ago


my stay - Rating 5/5

The location is unbeatable, the staff are friendly and helpful, and the English breakfast is unstinting - all for a very moderate price!

Reviewer:Mr Andrew K | Wed 29th Nov 2017 | 2 years ago


River hotel - Rating 4/5

We had a very pleasant couple of days here, good location, staff helpful and friendly.

Reviewer:Elaine G | Mon 27th Nov 2017 | 2 years ago


Excellent Clean Great Breakfast - Rating 5/5

We stayed in this hotel three nights and enjoyed our stay there. Very quite, clean, all shower facilities great, clean toielt, tea and cofee facitilies in roon, great breakfast very personal touch, friendly people, ten minutes from train station. We went to kur daughter graduation at University of Oxford very close in walking distance to every place. Next to besutiful river. We had good time.

Reviewer:Shahrad T | Sun 5th Nov 2017 | 2 years ago


River Hotel Experience - Rating 5/5

Excellent all round service. My grandson Sam who works in hotels was very pleased, especially with the breakfast. The situation and parking are a huge bonus to users of your establishment. Thanks for a lovely stay, kind regards Mr. G. W. R. Paton

Reviewer:PATON Graham Mr/ LEWIS Samuel ( | Sat 4th Nov 2017 | 2 years ago


Highly recommended - Rating 4/5

I met a friend in Oxford and pppreciated the convenience of the nearness to the main station, which was in walking distance to the hotel.I found the hotel very clean and extremely friendly.Nothing was too much trouble for them.The only disadvantage for didabled people, there are quite a few stairs inside and out, with no lift.

Reviewer:Issacharoff D | Wed 25th Oct 2017 | 2 years ago


Very comfortable stay - Rating 4/5

I would recommend staying here, check in was easy and straightforward. Very helpful too as unable to stay for breakfast so provided a breakfast tray in room. The room was pleasant very clean. We had a night at the theatre so this hotel was only a 10 minute walk. Having stayed before 2 years ago we were happy to stay again. I would recommend this hotel and look forward to returning. Oh forgot the free parking.

Reviewer:Carol T | Sat 21st Oct 2017 | 2 years ago


river hotel - Rating 4/5

we had room 2. a simple and comfortable room for 3 adults. looking onto the road, but quiet thanks to the secondary glazing. looks a little dated but the garden by the river was great and the breakfast delicious.

Reviewer:FREARSON Adam M | Wed 11th Oct 2017 | 2 years ago


our experience at River Hotel - Rating 4/5

Close to the railway station.Friendly and helpfull staff.Easy to walk to Oxford city.Next to the hotel You can start beautiful walks near the river Thames and Oxford Canal to Jericho(nice neighborhood)Rooms are clean and brings you back to the Inspector Morse years ...Breakfast on order is good:scrambled eggs, bacon, ...Best Marmite experience ever...Lovely hand-caught kippers! :)Kind regards

Reviewer:Buelens I | Wed 4th Oct 2017 | 2 years ago


River Hotel - Rating 3/5

Very convenient to city centre and the train station.The staff was very pleasant and accommodating.The room was adequate and clean, but somewhat outdated.

Reviewer:BURNETT P | Thu 28th Sep 2017 | 2 years ago


River Hotel - Rating 4/5

Staff were just lovely, extremely helpful and generous with information about the local area.Breakfast was very nice.Exterior photos very true to reality.Location is excellent, you can and I suggest you do - walk everywhere as currently there is road works blocking most the city. Although parking is available onsite which is a huge plus.The rooms are very simple, basic but clean and relatively quiet.

Reviewer:CRAWLEY J | Mon 25th Sep 2017 | 2 years ago


River Hotel Stay - Rating 4/5

Excellent stay yet again. Great service, room clean and tidy, comfortable bed providing a good nights sleep and breakfast very tasty. Well situated for travel.

Reviewer:Cptn Mark S | Mon 25th Sep 2017 | 2 years ago


Mother & daughter one night in Oxford - Rating 5/5

Sadly only one night spent here, it was a great place to stay, very close to the train station and by the river, only a short walk into centre of Oxford. Room comfortable and clean. Staff couldn't have been more helpful at breakfast, even providing vegetarian option for my daughter and cooked breakfasts presented beautifully. They even let us leave our bags until we went for our train, so we didn't need to carry them around the shops.

Reviewer:HALL A | Sat 2nd Sep 2017 | 2 years ago


4 nights in Oxford - Rating 4/5

Great location, ideal to leave the car. Fifteen minutes walk into centre. Accomodation comfortable but a bit tired, plenty of hot water. Staff friendly and helpful. Great breakfast. Five minutes walk to The Punter traditional pub with good food.

Reviewer:Mr. Peter C | Wed 23rd Aug 2017 | 2 years ago


Highly recommend the River Hotel - Rating 5/5

We had a lovely 4-day stay . Comfortable and clean rooms, friendly and accomadating staff and excellent breakfasts.Our early (by 3 of us) and very late (by our 4th) arrivals, the need to have a large package of camping equipment received and then picked up days after our departure as well as our need to use the left luggage room for a few days after check out were all handeled with smiles and efficiency by the staffEasy access to train/bus and city center but quiet riverside garden and lovelywalks. In a lovely part of town. Excellent 'heritage pub'only a few minutes walk away.The hotel is a little more worn then many Americans are used to but all of our party enjoyed it and would highly recommend.

Response

Thank you for your lovely review and we are delighted you enjoyed your whole time in Oxford.We hope the festival was a perfect end to your trip to the UK and welcome you next time.

Reviewer:Mrs. Kathryn P | Wed 16th Aug 2017 | 2 years ago


Pleasant stay - Rating 4/5

Comfortable hotel with polite, very helpful staff and within easy walking distance of the city centre attractions.

Reviewer:CRANSTON David & M | Fri 11th Aug 2017 | 2 years ago


Pleasant hotel- Rating 3/5

A very nice welcome, and pleasant and helpful staff.Good breakfast and OK room. Would benefit with some new wallpaper.

Reviewer:Martin P | Fri 11th Aug 2017 | 2 years ago


Great location - Rating 5/5

Walking distance from train station and town. We used the hotel as our base to explore the Cotswold area. We also enjoyed walking on the trail along the river right outside the hotel. Great hot breakfast and friendly staff. And shower was great.

Reviewer:Jaehyea W | Sun 6th Aug 2017 | 2 years ago


Good location, helpful staff - Rating 4/5

As described- very close to station and town centre and staff are very helpful. Breakfast was fast and plentiful, there is luggage storage and we were able to leave the car there the next day.Decor is a little worn, but it's clean and showers are strong.

Reviewer:Janet W | Mon 31st Jul 2017 | 2 years ago


Great location- Rating 4/5

Basic accommodation in a very handy location. The staff were friendly and more than made up for the barebones facilities. Breakfast was included in our price.

Reviewer:Dr. Julie T | Thu 27th Jul 2017 | 2 years ago


Great - Rating 5/5

We normally only stay at chain hotels. Not knowing what to expect our stay at River Hotel was a pleasant surprise.From check in to check out we were made very welcome. The room was comfy and relaxing.Breakfast was just right too!I would highly recommend the River Hotel for anyone visiting Oxford.

Reviewer:Mr. Mark S | Wed 26th Jul 2017 | 2 years ago


Overnight, July 22 - Rating 3/5

The room was quite satisfactory for an overnight stay.Reasonably priced, clean, and close to the train station and downtown.Breakfast was good and appreciated.Staff was friendly and helpful.We appreciated having the luggage storage area available to us after we checked out.

Reviewer:Mrs. Robin K | Wed 26th Jul 2017 | 2 years ago


River Hotel Oxford - Rating 5/5

A nice, clean hotel. Great place to stay

Reviewer:MAFANYA O | Sun 25th Jun 2017 | 2 years ago


Perfect location- Rating 5/5

Thank you River Hotel, yours is a superb location for enjoying Oxford, really appreciate the free car park and safe, secure, quaint, comfortable lodging, excellent service and delicious breakfast, I will definitely be back!

Reviewer:Lynn F | Mon 19th Jun 2017 | 2 years ago


End of section 4 Thames Path - Rating 3/5

Although only a two star hotel we found the accommodation adequate. Not used to sleeping with tightly tucked in blankets though. More used to duvets.The staff were very pleasant and helpful.

Reviewer:Mr. Graham E | Tue 13th Jun 2017 | 2 years ago


Very Recommendable - Rating 5/5

We had a very pleasent stay for one night, happy about a bathtub, good beds, a substential breakfast and very friendly staff.

Reviewer:Georg S | Mon 12th Jun 2017 | 2 years ago


Lovely stay - Rating 5/5

I'd initially booked 2 nights at the nearby YHA but due to the noise levels, needed to move elsewhere.Luckily the River Hotel had vacancies and proved to be a quiet location, with friendly staff and an excellent breakfast - and very reasonably priced too!Should I visit Oxford again, I'd book here straight away!

Response

Thank you for your kind review and we welcome you back to the River Hotel on your next visit to Oxford.

Reviewer:Andrea M | Sun 4th Jun 2017 | 2 years ago


Great service- Rating 4/5

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Although the rooms are a bit dated, they are clean and comfortable. The breakfast in the morning was superb, even the chef came out to check we were happy with everything! Service was faultless. Would stay again .

Reviewer:ROACH J | Mon 29th May 2017 | 2 years ago


Pleasant and friendly- Rating 3/5

We spent 3 nights at the River Hotel in Oxford.We were able to check in at 11 AM.The staff is friendly and helpful. Our room was clean and comfortable.The hotel is in a very convenient location, an easy walk from the station and right on the River Thames. It is not inexpensive, but the price is all inclusive:free parking, wifi, and a very good breakfast in a pretty room with fresh flowers on the tables. I think it is very good value given the location. We had no issues with traffic noise in our 3 floor front room. We found the staff to be friendly, cheerful and helpful.Be aware that there are a lot of stairs and no lifts so people with limited mobility might be better looking elsewhere.

Reviewer:Mr. Daniel K | Sat 27th May 2017 | 2 years ago


River Hotel - Rating 4/5

Perfect for one night stay as close to Oxford attractions. Although hotel dated was very clean, friendly staff and good breakfast cooked to order.

Reviewer:Mrs. Sharon M | Fri 26th May 2017 | 2 years ago


Basics covered - Rating 3/5

Great location, lovely people running/working at hotel and provided the basics. Hotel in serious need of some improvements and updating, especially beds.

Reviewer:Ms. Patricia| Thu 25th May 2017 | 2 years ago


well located hotel - Rating 4/5

The hotel is in a great location and has plenty of parking space which is a real bonus in Oxford. Staff were very pleasant and helpful. Breakfast was excellent and freshly cooked. Downsides;poor reception on the TV only 3 channels coming through, pillows very flat. Rooms were clean.

Reviewer:Mrs. Mary B | Wed 24th May 2017 | 2 years ago


Friendly and helpful hotel. - Rating 4/5

We have stayed here many times and have always found the service friendly and helpful. The breakfasts are very good with plenty of choice. It perhaps needs updating, but, on the plus side, it is also very convenient for walking into Oxford.

Reviewer:Mrs. G. R. P | Wed 17th May 2017 | 2 years ago


A week-end break in Oxford - Rating 4/5

Service was excellent.We received a friendly, informative reception and the breakfast was exceptional for a 2 star hotel. It is located a short walk from the station, or if travelling by car there is parking at the hotel. It is within easy walking distance to the center of Oxford and I would recommend the River Hotel as a good, affordable base to explore the area.

Reviewer:Mrs. Nova D | Tue 9th May 2017 | 2 years ago


Accom at River Hotel Oxford - Rating 3/5

Excellent location very close to railway station and short walk to town. Quiet. Basic but comfortable accommodation. Staff friendly and helpful. Freshly cooked breakfast great (rather than something that's been sitting in a bain-marie.

Reviewer:Ms. Elaine A | Mon 8th May 2017 | 2 years ago


Great location. Friendly staff - Rating 4/5

This hotel is ideally situated for arriving by public transport. It is an easy walk into Oxford city centre &has great river walks immediately outside the hotel. The staff are friendly, welcoming &knowledgeable about the area. Rooms are small but clean &well equipped. Good selection for breakfast. I imagine it may be a little noisy when hotel is full but this is a small price to pay for such a convenient location. Good value for a city centre hotel. I will be staying here again in the future.

Reviewer:Mrs. Julie C | Wed 26th Apr 2017 | 2 years ago


Wonderful Stay - Rating 4/5

My sister and I spent two nights at the River Hotel, and it was lovely! The staff is very inviting and accommodating-- even preparing vegan food for our breakfast upon request-- and the hotel is very well kept and clean. It is in a great location, right next to the train station, and either a short walk/drive to town on the main street or a longer, picturesque walk along the river.Very simple and quaint, I highly recommend!

Reviewer:Miss. Hannah S | Mon 17th Apr 2017 | 2 years ago


My special place in Oxford - Rating 4/5

Every year I come to Oxford for a conference and since I found the River Hotel, it has become my home there! Wonderfully nice and accommodating team, simple but comfortable rooms, easy access and an excellent breakfast... everything I need to be able to fully enjoy the conference!!

Reviewer:Mr. Sébastian M | Fri 7th Apr 2017 | 2 years ago


Highly recommend - Rating 4/5

Great location, friendly staff, would stay again.

Reviewer:Mrs. Julie S | Sat 1st Apr 2017 | 2 years ago


Convenient, friendly - will visit again ! - Rating 5/5

My mother &I attended a family reunion in Oxford and were delighted with the location of the River Hotel (walked to everywhere from there), and with the bright, spacious room, hospitality &selection available at breakfast. Will be back.

Reviewer:Mrs. Amanda S | Tue 28th Mar 2017 | 2 years ago


River Hotel in Oxford - Rating 4/5

The River Hotel in Oxford was conveniently located to the Oxford train station which was important to us as we were walking with our bags from the train station.The room was comfortable and the service was great in that we were able to leave our bags in a locked room while we visited Blenhiem Palace for the day.

Reviewer:Ms. Phyllis H | Tue 28th Mar 2017 | 2 years ago


River Hotel - friendly and convenient - Rating 4/5

We had a very pleasant stay at this hotel. It is placed so conveniently to walk into Oxford, we did not use our car at all. The staff were wonderfully friendly and were happy to help with all our enquiries. The cooked breakfast was very good and toast and drinks replenished when needed. We did not feel rushed at any time.The owners are making efforts to bring this hotel up to date but the decor in our room was tired, however all was kept clean and tidy for us. My only advise to River Hotel is either replace or take down the blinds at the front, they don't give a very good impression.

Reviewer:Mrs. Marian T | Sun 19th Mar 2017 | 2 years ago


Great location - Rating 5/5

Gret location, friendly staff and cozy rooms. Would happily stay here again.

Reviewer:Mr. Robert G | Thu 16th Mar 2017 | 2 years ago


Great place to stay - Rating 5/5

Very clean and tidy staff exceptional great breakfast well cooked all you can eat we stayed for 3 nights and very happy close to Thames path and train station this is the second time we have stayed here come and try it yourself.

Response

Thanks

Reviewer:P | Tue 17th Jan 2017 | 2 years ago


Book Online

Our Facilities


  • Conference
  • Credit Card
  • Free Parking
  • Parking Facilities
  • Restaurant
  • Bar
  • Family Rooms
  • City Centre
  • Ironing Service
  • Wifi
  • City Breaks